One Final Review…

…but not really! Hi everyone, or anyone who cares to read through this. This is the final post that I will be making that has nothing to do with my actual blog and everything to do with the class that I started this blog for. So, once again, sorry to distract you from the original content. I will continue to blog about food and film after this, hopefully on a regular basis still, fingers crossed! After this week, finals will be over and I can really apply myself to watching movies and finding new recipes for all of you, but first here’s my review over my blogging experience.

I started this blog for class, and I’m so glad that I was assigned a blog project. Literally, on the same day that this blog was assigned, I had had the idea for it. Talk about synchronicity! That being said, I love what I write about and will try to continue it for as long as I can. My one hope from this blog is really that it gets noticed. I think it’s a one of a kind blog, and I hope to one day Google the topic and find my blog on the first page of results. Sadly, I have Googled the topic “Food and Film” and this doesn’t show up at all, but I have high hopes for one day!

My other goal, is that I get better at watching movies and to watch more really great movies. I hope to talk more about techniques and directors and really get a sense of what I’m talking about. I think that plays a really big part in getting noticed. Along with having great recipes, if I have a real voice about my opinions on film that everyone can relate to, I think I can attract a real audience.

Another big part of this class was to use social media to promote myself along with my projects as much as possible. I think this is a great thing to learn, I just wish that I hadn’t taken such a long hiatus from all social media as I did. Because I did go silent for so long, I still feel like I don’t get much traffic from people hearing about this on Facebook, but I’m going to continue to try. My next big move for social media and this blog is to figure out how to synch it up to Pinterest that way I can get more views and work my way up in the Google ranks.

All in all, I enjoy doing this. I like exploring my writing style and my creativity and that’s something that I hope to be able to take into the professional world with me. I love WordPress. I think it’s great that I can buy this domain if I really want to. I also love the ease of it for helping me to understand building a website, even if it is all done for you. It’s one thing that makes me feel more confident about the internet. This experience has been a positive one and all I have to do is just keep going. That being said, I will leave you with this. The next movie that I will most likely be reviewing soon. Get excited, I’ll see you soon!

inthenameoftheking

 

About Leah Hatcher

My name is Leah Hatcher, I am an Electronic Media major at Texas State University and a self-declared movie buff. However, there is a surprising amount of movies I haven't seen, and worse, an embarrassing amount of good movies I have yet to see. So that's what this blog is all about. I'll watch a movie and make a new dish, whether it's a recipe I stumble upon or just something I come up with on my own, and critique them both. I'll share the recipe, too, of course! Now, I know there are some who might not trust someone critiquing their own food, so I have another key-player in this blog: my co-host, my boyfriend who will be sure to be brutally honest in order to make my critiques more "trustworthy". So, without further ado, enjoy the show!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

