Pre-Thanksgiving Pumpkin Pie

Hi all! So, we’re doing something a little different today. It’s been a busy couple of weeks and I was wanting to take it easy this weekend. Chow, on the other hand, loves pumpkin pie and bought a fresh pumpkin to make a homemade pie for himself, so I figured I’d document that with a slideshow (this is another one of those posts that’s a blatant reminder that I have this blog for school, so that’s my excuse). Plus, it’s on a gluten-free crust, so it’s a win, win for the both of us! There’s no movie review, but expect a normal post soon!

We bought a pie pumpkin from the grocery store, it’s smaller than a pumpkin you might imagine buying for Halloween. Anyway, you pretty much follow the same recipe that you would from the Libby’s Pumpkin Puree in a can, except you will make the pumpkin puree yourself.

Cut the pumpkin in half, set on cookie sheet open side down (line your pan with parchment paper for less mess) and bake on 400 degrees for about an hour or until tender. Once you pull the done pumpkin out, let it cool and then pull the skins off. Use what you need for the pie (we only needed about half of the pumpkin) and puree that with a blender stick or a food processor. From there, you can follow the rest of the recipe like this:

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

2  large eggs

Pumpkin puree (15 oz)

12 oz can evaporated milk

1  unbaked 9-inch (4-cup volume) deep-dish pie shell

Mix sugar, cinnamon, salt, ginger and cloves in small bowl. Beat eggs in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk. Pour into pie shell. Bake in preheated 425° F oven for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 350° F; bake for 40 to 50 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack for 2 hours. Serve immediately or refrigerate.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Unfortunately, that pie is hot and we’re waiting for it to cool over night before we try it, so I can’t tell you how it it, but it looks and smells amazing! You can check out Chow’s take on it at his blog right here along with other cool movie reviews! Thanks for reading and don’t forget to check in later this week!

About Leah Hatcher

My name is Leah Hatcher, I am an Electronic Media major at Texas State University and a self-declared movie buff. However, there is a surprising amount of movies I haven't seen, and worse, an embarrassing amount of good movies I have yet to see. So that's what this blog is all about. I'll watch a movie and make a new dish, whether it's a recipe I stumble upon or just something I come up with on my own, and critique them both. I'll share the recipe, too, of course! Now, I know there are some who might not trust someone critiquing their own food, so I have another key-player in this blog: my co-host, my boyfriend who will be sure to be brutally honest in order to make my critiques more "trustworthy". So, without further ado, enjoy the show!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

