Flank Steak-ed in the Heart

Hello, everyone! It’s getting closer and closer to Halloween, so I figured I could focus more on a horror movie theme for this post and next week’s. This weekend I went and saw Dracula Untold and, after tossing around several ideas for the food, I decided on a Bloody Mary Flank Steak as my dish. Let’s get to it!

The Food:

There’s really not a whole lot out of dishes out there that are inspired by Bloody Mary’s. I originally thought pizza or pasta, but this flank steak recipe seemed like the easiest. Especially since you can do it in a crockpot. I chose to follow this recipe here. Here’s what you need:

1 small onion cut into large chunks

2-3 ribs celery cut into 2 in. pieces

1 1/2 – 2 lb flank steak

12 oz can tomato juice

4-5 cloves garlic

2 tsp horseradish

1 tsp hot sauce

2 tbsp lime juice

1/4 tsp celery salt

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Combine tomato juice, garlic, horseradish, hot sauce, lime juice and seasonings and put into a gallon size bag to marinade the steak in for 8-12 hours.

Once the steak is done marinating, line the bottom of the crockpot with onion and celery and place the steak on top and add the remaining marinade to the pot. The vegetables are really just there to prevent the meat from sticking. Cook on low heat for 7-8 hours.

IMG_3154 IMG_3155

We made a little “gravy” with the remaining juice, but that is optional. After the steak has been cooked, transfer the steak to a plate and run the leftover juice and vegetables through a strainer, while pressing on the veggies to get as much juice out as possible. In a saucepan, heat the juice and add a cornstarch slurry or flour to it for it to thicken up. Serve the “gravy” on top of the steak or on whatever side you make. We did mashed potatoes.

IMG_3157

The Critique:

First thing’s first: The original recipe said crockpot OR grilled flank steak. I urge you to do yours in the crockpot. Even after 8 hours of marinating, flank steak is just a tough cut of meat. I really didn’t even have high hope for it getting tender even after 8 hours of cooking. I was pleasantly surprised! It turned out to be like a poor man’s brisket. It just fell apart, you didn’t have to cut it. And it separated kind of stringy how brisket does. The sauce that it cooks in is very tasty. The meat itself, however, was extremely bland. I would suggest making the “gravy” that I talked about above and using it on top of the meat for extra flavor. That made it so much better. The Boyfriend and I were pleased, though. Not so much for the flavor, but we’re excited to cook with flank steak more, since it turned out to not be the worthless meat that I thought it was.

The Movie: 

dracula-untold-review-possibly-should-have-stayed-that-way-wait-is-this-batman

We went to see Gary Shore’s Dracula Untold in theaters this weekend. It’s an origin story of how Dracula came to be. It also focuses on the folk-lore of Vlad Tepes AKA Vlad the Impaler, and how he was believed to be tied to vampires.

The movie is about Vlad, Prince of Transylvania (Luke Evans) and his desperation to keep the Sultan of Turkey from taking 1,000 boys, including Vlad’s son, for the Turkish army. Vlad goes to see a mysterious monster in the mountains, the master vampire, to seek help and makes a deal with him in exchange for a sample of his power. He then starts a war with the Turkish with the goal of defeating them in three days which is the amount of time that he has the vampiric power for, so that his people can return to peace. There is one stipulation though, and that is if he gives into his urges for human blood, he will remain vampire for…well forever. Also, if he gives in, the master vampire who’s been banished to the mountains will be free to leave the mountains and wreck havoc on the world. Also he will be able to call on Dracula at any time as his loyal servant for any favor he might need. And I’ll stop there, since it’s a new release and I don’t want to ruin anything for anyone.

25_06_14_2

The Critique: (SPOILERS)

I liked this movie. It was an interesting take on the story that we all know. I don’t know much about the history of Vlad the Impaler, but I thought it was really cool that they made this about the actual folklore of him. Visually, the movie was very good. It had some really stunning scenes. It was full of action, which I’m not really big on fight scenes, or battle scenes I should say. The battle scenes featured in this movie were not unlike any other movies I’ve ever seen before. Often times, there was so much going on in the fight that I couldn’t comprehend what was happening. The Boyfriend thought that there were some awesome fights, though.

dracula-untold

I really thought that I was going to see a vampire origin story in this, not just Dracula’s. I’m not upset that I didn’t, but I still think it would be cool to have someone show their ideas on where they came from, other than from hell. The movie did leave off in a way that suggests it will have at least a sequel if not be a trilogy. All in all, I liked it. It was a straight forward, epic action movie. I’m definitely more interested in seeing other installments of it, especially if it takes place in present day. Also, I’m interested because this movie made Dracula out to be a hero of sorts, and obviously since master vampire is free to roam, we have a opening for a good versus evil story in the future.

Check in next Tuesday to see what’s cooking!

About Leah Hatcher

My name is Leah Hatcher, I am an Electronic Media major at Texas State University and a self-declared movie buff. However, there is a surprising amount of movies I haven't seen, and worse, an embarrassing amount of good movies I have yet to see. So that's what this blog is all about. I'll watch a movie and make a new dish, whether it's a recipe I stumble upon or just something I come up with on my own, and critique them both. I'll share the recipe, too, of course! Now, I know there are some who might not trust someone critiquing their own food, so I have another key-player in this blog: my co-host, my boyfriend who will be sure to be brutally honest in order to make my critiques more "trustworthy". So, without further ado, enjoy the show!
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Film, Food, movies, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

