Out of the Furnace Frito Pie

Hi everyone! I’m sorry that I didn’t post last week and that this post isn’t on its normal Tuesday schedule. I went home to see family, and although I did see a new movie and eat some food while I was there, it wasn’t anything special to blog about/I saw the movie Annabelle, and didn’t want to relive a minute of it. Anyway, I’m back and ready to go at it. This weekend I watched Scott Cooper’s 2013 movie Out of the Furnace and made Frito Pies with a Spicy Chicken Chorizo Chili. This chili recipe is the first that I’ve shared on the blog that I fully made up on my own, so I’m excited to share it with you. Let’s get started!

The Food:

So this idea for this chili came to me one day when I was at my neighborhood H.E.B. I think The Boyfriend and I were there to get brats and stuff for a cookout when I saw this beautiful package of chorizo. I love chorizo a lot, but the way this particular chorizo was packaged was rare to me.

IMG_3133

Normally the chorizo I find and use is in a casing, and when you cook it it’s less like meat and more like a paste. Or there’s Italian chorizo which is like salami. But this particular chorizo really got me thinking. I had recently gone to the Drafthouse and had their Chicken Chorizo Pizza (which was delicious) and so I knew that I could really do something awesome with this besides make amazing eggs (which I still did make so amazing eggs with it). So I dog-eared this idea in my head and knew that one day I would make a Chicken Chorizo Chili. And that day has come. Here’s what you will need:

1/2 lb ground pork chorizo

1/2 lb ground chicken

2 tbsp chili powder

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp oregano

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp red cayenne pepper

1 tsp salt

8 0z can tomato sauce

8 0z can full of water

Cook the chicken and chorizo in a skillet together until done.IMG_3135

Add tomato sauce, water and spices and mix it all in. Cover and let simmer for 30-45 minutes.

IMG_3138IMG_3139

We made frito pies with it, because that’s what I was craving, but do whatever your heart desires.

IMG_3140

The Critique:

I was really impressed by it. The Chorizo gave it a really nice and interesting flavor and the chicken helped tone down the spice. If I were to change anything, I would probably cut back on some of the spices just to really showcase the flavor of the chorizo. The Boyfriend really liked it, he would have preferred it to be a little thinner so that his fritos could get soggy. So that’s all just up to you, and it’s easy to fix since you would just add more or less water. Definitely something I’m trying again and again until I get it perfect and as long as I can find that ground chorizo or something similar.

The Movie: (Spoilers)

So, obviously from the title of this post you can tell I watched Out of the Furnace. I had not heard too much about this movie, so The Boyfriend and I went in blindly.

christianbale_furnace727 cineplex.com

It’s about Russell Baze (Christian Bale) and his brother Rodney Baze (Casey Affleck). The two brothers are struggling to get by in their own ways. Russell works at a steel mill where his now terminally ill father worked and his brother is a veteran adapting to life as a civilian. One night, Russell leaves a bar and gets into a car crash that leaves the driver and passenger of the other car dead. He goes to jail for vehicular manslaughter, learns that his father died and his girlfriend left him while he’s in jail. When he gets out, he once again sees the positive side of things and life starts to look up for him. All the while, Rodney, who Russell tries to watch over, has decided to go down a dangerous path and enter into street fights to win money so that he can avoid the monotony of the steel mill. After Rodney enters into a fight with a crew led by the ruthless Harlan DeGroat (Woody Harrelson) and winds up dead, Russell embarks on a road of vengeance to find justice for his brother and makes a few more mistakes along the way.

Film Review Out of the Furnace huffingtonpost.com

The Critique:

Like I said, I went into this with absolutely no expectations and I’m leaving it feeling absolutely nothing. This movie was not bad, it just did nothing for me. I don’t necessarily think it was lacking anywhere specifically, it was just that with all the components together, something was missing.

The positives are that Christian Bale is amazing. He brought a lot of life to his character and I did start to tear up a little in the scene where he talks to his ex (Zoe Saldana) for the first time after being released from prison. I also have never seen a movie where Woody Harrelson plays a really nasty, bad-ass dude, so that was refreshing.

out-of-the-furnace1 philadelphia.cbslocal.com

The negatives: I was bored, plain and simple. There was not even a happy ending for Christian Bale, other than justice was served.

It was nominated for some awards, so people obviously liked it. I don’t feel like I’ll never get those two hours back that I spent watching it, so you might enjoy it. It just wasn’t my cup of tea.

Alright guys, after this we will be back on schedule. Check in next Tuesday to see what’s on the menu!

About Leah Hatcher

My name is Leah Hatcher, I am an Electronic Media major at Texas State University and a self-declared movie buff. However, there is a surprising amount of movies I haven't seen, and worse, an embarrassing amount of good movies I have yet to see. So that's what this blog is all about. I'll watch a movie and make a new dish, whether it's a recipe I stumble upon or just something I come up with on my own, and critique them both. I'll share the recipe, too, of course! Now, I know there are some who might not trust someone critiquing their own food, so I have another key-player in this blog: my co-host, my boyfriend who will be sure to be brutally honest in order to make my critiques more "trustworthy". So, without further ado, enjoy the show!
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Film, Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

