Garbage Plate

Hi everyone! I’m excited to share my reflections on this weekend’s dinner and a movie with you, but this weekend was a really busy one and I didn’t have any good ideas about what to make or what to watch. I didn’t want to let you all down, though, so this weekend consisted of what I would like to call a “garbage plate” since there was no rhyme or reason for it. A random meal that has nothing to do with the random movie of my choice. I made tacos, using a new method that a friend of mine uses and watched David Russell’s 2012 movie, Silver Linings Playbook. Here’s how it went:

The Food:

I have a guilty pleasure, and that is Jack in the Box tacos. They really don’t get much better. They’re deep fried, cheesy, don’t fall apart on you and you can buy 2 for $1. However, I have no idea what kind of garbage goes into them and I always regret my decision after, but I have friend who just so happens to make tacos using a method similar to Jack in the Box. Here’s what you need:

1 lb of ground beef

1 package Yellow Corn Tortillas (20 will do)

Salt and Pepper for seasoning

1 1/2 cup Canola Oil

Shredded Cheese

Shredded lettuce, tomato, sour cream, etc. (whatever you like to dress your tacos with)

Heat your oil in a pan. Take a small ball of the raw meat and press it into a thin half moon-shaped patty and press it to one side of your corn tortilla. From there season the meat with some salt and pepper.

IMG_3063

Take your tortilla and drop the half that has the meat on it down into the hot oil first (meat side up) and allow the meat to get a head start on cooking before you fold the other half over onto the meat. Flip over a few times allowing the meat to brown and the tortilla to crisp up on both sides. This takes about 3 minutes.

IMG_3064 IMG_3067

Once your meat is fully cooked and the tortilla crisp, transfer the taco over to a plate lined with paper towels to allow the grease to drip. While the taco is still hot and plyable, grab a little bit of cheese and stuff inside so it can melt while the taco is cooling (this is optional, you can wait until it’s completely cool, but I like melty cheese).

IMG_3066

After the tacos are cooled, fix them up with whatever dressings you like and serve! I made 8 with a half pound of the meat and froze the rest for future use.

IMG_3070

The Critique:

No special guests this week, just me and The Boyfriend. We both liked them a lot, but they definitely need more than just a pinch of salt and pepper. The meat was bland and salsa was my best friend. That’s an easy fix though, next time I can add some cumin and chili powder to give it more of a Mexican kick. Also, they were extremely greasy. With every bite I took, grease gushed out of it. I asked my friend afterward, though, and apparently she sets them upside down to cool so that the grease can drain out of them. I’ll have to give that a try next time. Other than that, I loved it. It was a pretty easy process, I would just suggest getting all of your tortillas set up with the meat before you start frying to avoid contamination of raw meat, and definitely figure out how many you want to make to start off with. I knew I wasn’t going to use a whole pound, so it was nice to prepare what I needed and toss the rest aside for the next time I decide to make them. Thank you, Cheyanne for this recipe!

The Movie: (May contain spoilers)

814skS4TMOL._SL1500_courtesy of amazon.com

Silver Linings Playbook is a comedy-drama about overcoming mental illness (better yet, obstacles that come with mental illness) above all. Pat (Bradley Cooper) is the main character who has just been discharged from a mental institution in Baltimore, and goes to  live with his parents (Robert De Niro and Jacki Weaver) because he is no longer welcome to stay with his wife, who has filed a restraining order against him. This movie showcases his struggles with reality and emotions while introducing the flaws of all the surrounding characters, showing that everyone is a little crazy. He meets a widow named Tiffany (Jennifer Lawrence) who has overcome her own obstacles after the loss of her husband, and they form a friendship or partnership that’s based on each of their selfish needs. The partnership leads to an amazing and positive bond that both characters desperately needed.

The Critique:

Oh. My. Goodness. I knew this movie won an Oscar, but I obviously put off watching it up until now. What a stupid thing to do, I loved this movie. Every part of it. It’s hysterical, it’s heartwarming, it has an actual ending to it and a happy one at that (it seems like so many movies try to either just end openly or end with the worst possible outcome these days).

Silver-Linings-Playbook-New-Movie-Stills-HQ-jennifer-lawrence-33341927-1280-848courtesy of fanpop.com

I don’t have much criticism for it, really. I guess the only thing that I didn’t like was that some of the dialogue escalated really quickly. One scene in particular was the scene where Pat sees his brother for the first time since he was admitted into the institution. Their dialogue seemed natural for the most part, but it was kind of jumpy and quick. I didn’t really buy that this is how their very first talk would go after Pat getting out. But then I look at the entire family and see how they are caring but not totally understanding of Pat’s mental state, so they don’t always act in ways that are supportive.

I loved slowly finding the flaws in everybody. His father is an obsessive compulsive bookie, and Tiffany is an undiagnosed recovering sex addict. His friend’s marriage is close to being in shambles, and yet Pat is the crazy one.

I had absolutely no expectations going into this movie. I guess my one expectation was that it would be good, and I ended up loving everything about this movie! I would definitely watch it again and again. Great actors, great soundtrack, great writing! I was also pleased with the directing. A lot of unique shots throughout the movie. It definitely deserves the Oscar that it won.

Picture-78pagetopremiere.com

About Leah Hatcher

My name is Leah Hatcher, I am an Electronic Media major at Texas State University and a self-declared movie buff. However, there is a surprising amount of movies I haven't seen, and worse, an embarrassing amount of good movies I have yet to see. So that's what this blog is all about. I'll watch a movie and make a new dish, whether it's a recipe I stumble upon or just something I come up with on my own, and critique them both. I'll share the recipe, too, of course! Now, I know there are some who might not trust someone critiquing their own food, so I have another key-player in this blog: my co-host, my boyfriend who will be sure to be brutally honest in order to make my critiques more "trustworthy". So, without further ado, enjoy the show!
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Film, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

