What is Foodies at the Movies?

Hi everyone! My name is Leah Hatcher and I am a Senior Electronic Media major at Texas State University in San Marcos, Texas. I’m 23 and a serious film and TV buff.

IMG_2785

However, there is still a surprising amount of movies I still haven’t seen, and worse, an embarrassing amount of good movies I have yet to see. So that’s what this blog is all about. I love to cook, although I don’t always have time for it, and I love to watch movies, so I had an idea for a blog concept that I had never heard of before. Here it goes: each week I’ll watch a new-to-me movie and make a new-to-me dish, whether it’s a recipe I stumble upon or just something I come up with on my own, and critique them both. I’ll share the recipe, too, of course! The idea came from how much I love The Alamo Drafthouse and other cinema cafes, where dinner and a movie is combined. You can check out the Drafthouse here. I also love the fact that for certain premiers, the Drafthouse makes up a special menu pertaining to that specific movie. I’m not super clever when it comes to naming stuff, but I’m going to try my hardest to tie in the movie with the dish, whether it be with the theme of the movie, location, actors, anything I can possibly have make sense. Now, because not everybody can trust a critique coming from the same person who made the food, I have another key-player in this blog: my supporting actor- my boyfriend- who will be brutally honest in order to make my critiques more “trustworthy”. Also, I’ll try to get some other special guests on every now and again to give their opinions, too, mainly because I like entertaining and feeding people. It’s a win, win! Another thing to remember too, is that I do not in anyway have experience with movie or food reviews, so as it says at the top of the site, I’m an amateur, and I won’t pretend that I know more than I really do. I’ve taken classes about films as a whole and classes about production elements of film, so I’m not totally clueless, I’m just saying I don’t know everything.

So, without further ado, enjoy the show!

About Leah Hatcher

My name is Leah Hatcher, I am an Electronic Media major at Texas State University and a self-declared movie buff. However, there is a surprising amount of movies I haven't seen, and worse, an embarrassing amount of good movies I have yet to see. So that's what this blog is all about. I'll watch a movie and make a new dish, whether it's a recipe I stumble upon or just something I come up with on my own, and critique them both. I'll share the recipe, too, of course! Now, I know there are some who might not trust someone critiquing their own food, so I have another key-player in this blog: my co-host, my boyfriend who will be sure to be brutally honest in order to make my critiques more "trustworthy". So, without further ado, enjoy the show!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

